Thoughts on S60

reflections on the most popular mobile operating system worldwide

Thinking about getting the N82…

with 2 comments

Nokia N82Now that I’ve been promoted and I’m about to have one of my larger bills drop off my monthly expenses, I’ve been thinking of making a lateral move regarding my phone (“upgrading” doesn’t quite fit when you have one of the best phones currently available already). Since I bought my N95-3, the idea was to eventually switch over to AT&T to make good on the high speed data when I could finally stomach the $200 ETF from T-Mobile. As appealing as HSDPA is, there’s just something about AT&T that makes me think they’re the devil and that the switch would ultimately just be a bad idea. In my pondering, I’ve come up with a couple ideas for and against the getting the N82, depending on what I decide to do with my carrier as well.

Read through, if you’d like.

The Pros…

-No contract change required. As mentioned, this is obviously the most important factor to me since it was the first idea to come to mind. EDGE has recently seemed fast enough for me with most of the browsing I do, so it wouldn’t be all TOO bad to continue to use it (this does fall under the category of backwards thinking for me though, since I think it’s dumb to not use the best technology available if the opportunity is there, especially if the phone itself is part of “the best technology”).

-Excellent form factor. I love the bar style in any of my phones having gotten used to it with the E70 and the N73. It would be a breath of fresh air to get it back. The design is also appealing to me, but I’m sure people will disagree with that. The button and connection placement are also bonuses, at least to me.

-Xenon flash and faster camera application. Need I say more? I’ve been browsing through Stefan’s Flickr set of all the pictures he took with the N82 and there’s a night and day difference between the quality of those pictures and those taken with the N95. If there was ever any doubt as to whether or not the N95 could replace a standalone digital camera, there certainly isn’t any for the N82.

-Always fun to pick up a new handset every once in a while 🙂 (the N95-3 almost didn’t count because it was damn near the same phone as my N95).

The Cons…

-No contract change. This is a double edged sword because I anticipated being able to use video streaming sites and Symella over AT&T’s network since it never did work on T-Mobile’s. I’ve tried every setting and read through every tutorial published on the inter-webs, but the only thing I can get to work is Symella over a WLAN connection. I was really hoping AT&T’s EDGE wouldn’t block any ports like T-Mobile does through their internet connection so I could finally use these services.

-Limited to EDGE data only. While I use my N95-3 every day, I still have the option of making the provider switch if I want to gain faster data speeds, but I don’t have that freedom with the N82. I would be officially committing myself to EDGE.

-Smaller 2.4″ screen. I guess the N95 screen just spoiled me (I’m glad I haven’t seen the massive screen on the N95 8gb in person). Every time I pick up my girlfriend’s N73, the screen just looks so tiny to me. I would definitely have to get used to that again.

-MicroUSB. Yes, I think it’s a con. Why? Because no one has this cable. When I go to work, there’s at least three miniUSB cables tripping people in the tech room. Any of my friends who deal with building computers always have one around somewhere. I understand it’s new technology that will probably be the new standard in x amount of months, but it’ll still take much longer for it to be as common as miniUSB, to the point where using it now almost makes it proprietary.

-No infrared. Normally not a big deal since I don’t know anyone else who really uses infrared, but I’m starting to find uses for it all over again. Psiloc just released the 3rd Edition version of irRemote that I want to start using (I lose my remotes constantly) and since most of my coworkers are on Verizon, my only option to send them files is over infrared since the OBEX file transfer profile is crippled.

-It’s also a $600+ device right now that I’d have to shuffle my N95-3 for (an estimated $200 difference after everything is bought and sold).

I looks like I answered my own question. If any of the few people who read my updates has any other ideas that might sway me one way or another, please drop a comment. I’d definitely appreciate it.

Also, checkout Stefan’s review of the N82 with a very detailed intro about the phases of the N95.

Written by Jonathan

December 1, 2007 at 7:44 am

Posted in s60 Suggestions

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jonny, The build quality alone makes this the better choice imo and once you use the camera you will have 0 regrets…

    greenteeth

    December 1, 2007 at 2:23 pm

  2. JB, there’s a good chance that the N82 with US 3G (or whatever u want to call it) would see the light of day. Change ur carrier to ATT (even if it isn’t morally the correct thing to do). I’ve used Symella without a hassle on my N95-3 with ATT.

    Amir

    December 12, 2007 at 11:59 pm


Leave a Reply

