Thoughts on S60

reflections on the most popular mobile operating system worldwide

Nokia N810 in the house!

with 2 comments

I meant to post this a couple days ago also, but simply didn’t have time with everything that was going on. My dad bought me an N810 as a belated birthday present and what a present it is! I’ll be doing some mini reviews with the device on different pieces of functionality and my overall experience with it as I get more used to it. I don’t know why, but the N810 overwhelms me much more than the N800 did when I used it back in October (Thanks again, WOM World!).

First impressions and a couple more pictures after the break.

Click here for the original pictures taken with the N82 on my N810 Ovi channel (which surprisingly look pretty bad at full resolution?).

N810-2

N810-3

So far, I’ve been very impressed with the device. The more I use it and customize it to my liking, the less I want to use my desktop at all. I even contemplated using it to write this post, but I didn’t want to spend all day learning how to do it all for the first time. Below are a few of my initial impressions about a couple aspects of the device. I have yet to even connect it to my desktop, so these impressions will be very early.

Web Browsing

As it should be, this is the star feature of the device. Web sites load a bit slower than they would on my desktop, but they appear almost identically to what Firefox would display with all of the same features. I still find myself able to browse more common websites faster on my N95-3, but the visual experience of the N810 makes it worth it. It’s a little inconvenient to deal with a large web page that will lag a bit when trying to scroll, but it’s not a deal breaker by any means.

Keyboard

Like Ricky’s post about the keyboard, I agree that it’s not all that it’s cracked up to be. I don’t find it to be all too comfortable, I find myself misspelling words frequently, and the directional pad doesn’t feel very natural at all. It’s a blessing to have the keyboard on occasion when I get fed up waiting for the touch screen to recognize that I want the full-finger keyboard rather than the tiny stylus-based QWERTY, but it’s still more like a backup than a convenience.

GPS

I managed to get it connected while I was driving around last night and I’m pretty satisfied with the results. Wayfinder is a bit on the ugly side compared to standalone GPS units, but it’s really nice to have a device with maps preloaded for an entire country right out of the box. The menu system took a little getting used to, but I was able to add favorites and search through POI’s without too much difficulty. The only downside that I saw was the option for the navigation upgrade. Like Nokia Maps, Wayfinder will only function as a full-blown GPS with a paid subscription tacked onto it, but the downside is, the only option appears to be 129.99/3 years. There’s a free trial, but I don’t want to use it yet since I’m just messing around with it and haven’t even setup the mount in my car yet. Even so, with the little amount I use GPS, it’ll be next to impossible to justify such a high cost for a lengthy subscription that I probably won’t use but every other month.

General OS/UI

OS2008 is gorgeous. I miss the themes a little bit from the N800 and the older operating system, but I’m really liking the default blue bubbles theme anyway. Everything is still very familiar from the N800 I trialled and it seems everything is just a little bit faster too (could be my imagination). Apparently, there’s a firmware update available for it and I haven’t even begun to look into all of the tablet communities for what else this device can do. In all honestly, its capabilities as far as web browsing, retrieving my emails, and having Majhong already installed for the girlfriend to play is worth the cost of the device alone. I’m really excited about getting into everything else now that I have more than just 2 weeks to get familiar with it.

Build Quality

This area was kinda hit or miss for me. Visually speaking, the N810 is gorgeous. I’ve received several compliments on how slick it looks from several people within this first week already. The fold out stand is nice for keeping tabs on what it’s doing while on my desk, and the device feels very well balanced. My gripe with it, however, is that it is SO slippery. Even though I’ve only been able to use it very briefly, I’ve already dropped it on myself 3 or 4 times while laying in bed just because I couldn’t get a comfortable grip on it while I was trying to type. Other than that, the slide is sturdy and all of the buttons provide excellent tactile feedback (despite the difficulty of the keyboard).

If you have any questions about the device that you would specifically like me to go over, please feel free to drop me an email or leave a comment below. I’ll take any excuse I can to use this device more than I already do.

Written by Jonathan

March 10, 2008 at 7:06 pm

Posted in s60 Suggestions

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How is the media functionality of the device? Also, is there a hiss from the 3.5mm jack (like on the N95)? Thanks and congrats…that is a sweet gift –

    newtype2011

    March 11, 2008 at 6:57 pm

  2. I’ll let you know in the next post about it. I didn’t even have a chance to put any media on it whatsoever yet, but after I do so and get a chance to see how it handles everything, there will be a follow-up post.

    Just a guess, but I imagine there won’t be any hiss at all. 😦

    Jonathan

    March 11, 2008 at 9:06 pm


Leave a Reply

