Thoughts on S60

reflections on the most popular mobile operating system worldwide

Brief: I bought an iPhone… :(

with 6 comments

(…and it’ll be on eBay before the end of tomorrow. Aside from all the extensive previous experience I had with it, there’s not much else to say about it after using it as a daily workhorse. There won’t be a review or comparison. My SIM card is back in my N95-3 and I’m thinking about swapping that for the N95-4. I’ll hand it to Apple for the presentation of the device and the appeal it has when you start to use it, but practicality and functionality get lost in translation somewhere and don’t outweigh the aesthetics.

Written by Jonathan

March 25, 2008 at 9:26 pm

Posted in s60 Suggestions

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Weren’t you tired of buttons the other day? Wondering coz I also had plans of swapping my N95-1 for an iPhone, but then….sigh…

    JKE

    March 26, 2008 at 4:23 pm

  2. The touch screen idea seems like it was just a phase that I needed to get over. Getting the N810 helped a bit, but using the iPhone made me really appreciate the value of buttons again. The UI is so much fun, but suffering through en entire day of trying to use it as just a phone was a noticeably less enjoyable experience than using my N95-3 for the same tasks.

    Imagine trying to spit out a quick text message with one hand while on the phone with someone driving to work and having no way to tell if you’re hitting the right buttons unless you’re staring at your device. That’s exactly how dangerous the iPhone is in the car.

    Jonathan

    March 26, 2008 at 4:50 pm

  3. My iPhone hit eBay even before my N95-3 arrived. It was a good device with a great browser, but I couldn’t get used to the touch screen and the camera really sucked.

    ryan141

    March 26, 2008 at 6:52 pm

  4. I just picked one up from ATT last week for $250, and I’m already bored with it. It’s an excellent mp3 player/photo viewer/web browser, but it is a horrible phone. I mean, I had to install a 3rd party application just to copy the sim contacts. I did love the quality of the music coming through the headphones, but most of my love for it stopped there.

    My GF wants one, and since I can’t convince her to get another S60, I’ll probably just throw this thing her way. It’s a great bed-side device. The sad part is, it never left my bed-side. I don’t know how people use this as their primary phone –

    newtype2011

    March 26, 2008 at 9:50 pm

  5. Even then, i like the pearl by my bedside more. I could instantly glance over to see a red light flashing if i have a voice mail, email, or sms. Not so with the iphone. The alarm isnt as good either. Gartner must have been paid by apple to say its ‘business ready’ because it truly isnt.

    gshappell

    March 27, 2008 at 12:56 pm

  6. JB:
    I see that you did make the jump and are leaping back. OK, welcome back to the fold. 🙂

    ArLequin

    March 31, 2008 at 7:35 pm


Leave a Reply

