Thoughts on S60

reflections on the most popular mobile operating system worldwide

Switching to AT&T, an experience

leave a comment »

AT&TI finally made the decision to switch my service from T-Mobile to AT&T. After being left with no signal from T-Mobile whatsoever and very slow EDGE speeds (roaming on AT&T) in Wisconsin for the wedding, I decided it was time to make use of my 3G-capable smartphone. I was hesitant for a long time because A) nobody wants to pay $400 in ETF’s and B) something about the company as a whole makes me feel like I’m assimilating into the collective.

I spoke with my guy who works for AT&T and after an ordeal (not an unpleasant ordeal, but an ordeal nonetheless), I was signed up for a family plan with 0-month commitment
and a new number with 20% off my bill.

Click through for my thoughts on the change of coverage and the reason why T-Mobile is still number one in my book.

I’ve had several interesting perks and disappointments with AT&T after only being a customer for less than 2 weeks.

+3G rocks. I’ve taught myself the art of emptying the battery on my N95-4 in less than 6 hours because I can’t stop playing with the super fast download speeds when I’m away from a wireless network. Simultaneous voice and data is pretty sweet too, but I’ve only experienced it in testing. I’m sure it will come in handy, such as when I used to have GoogleMaps quit when I’d receive a phone call, interrupting the EDGE connection. Not a problem anymore. 🙂

+Reception is noticeably better. I find myself with, ahem, more bars in more places, just as described. I’ve had a very hard time trying to find a location where I had less than at least 4 bars.

-Dropped calls are much more frequent. This doesn’t surprise me with the frequent hand-offs between GSM and UMTS that I see my phone swap between so frequently, but I’ve also have been unable to place calls with full reception a couple times as well. Coming from T-Mobile and having 1-3 dropped calls during the entire 3 years I had service with them, I’m okay with having a couple more. I haven’t had any calls dropped recently either, so I don’t mind.

–What is this???

AT&T paperwork

I received 8 pieces of paperwork from AT&T in the mail today, each of which notifying me of a minor change I made to my account online when I was setting it up. Not the worst thing that could happen, but doesn’t AT&T care about all the trees it just killed to waste my time on information I already received days ago by email?

As for T-Mobile

Yesterday, I called to cancel my line that wasn’t ported during the switch. I was dreading the call because I know how those CSR’s act on the save line, but I am absolutely floored at how well the girl I spoke with took care of me. To make a long story short, she informed me that my contract would expire on the June 9th of this year, flagged my account to cancel automatically on that date, and dropped my May bill down to the smallest plan available from the date of porting to AT&T to the end of the billing cycle. You can read about the whole experience in the thread I posted on Howard Forums here. T-Mobile may not have the best coverage or the best phones, but they have above and beyond the BEST customer service in the wireless business hands down and I’ll definitely miss it. I’m glad I have a 0-month commitment with AT&T so I can jump right back to T-Mobile if they fit my needs better in the future.

Written by Jonathan

May 23, 2008 at 3:52 am

Posted in Compliments, Events

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

