Thoughts on S60

reflections on the most popular mobile operating system worldwide

Must Have App: Handy Profiles

with one comment

Handy ProfilesI’ve been using Handy Profiles for a long time now, but only recently has it made it into my list of “must-have applications” for some needs it has been able to fill for me. Once installed, there really is no need to ever open the default Profiles application again. Handy Profiles handles every standard profile setting as well as everything else it does.

If you’re not familiar with Handy Profiles, it’s an application that adds the timed profile functionality from S40 to S60 and adds a ton of bonus features as well. Continue reading for a brief write up of what this software can do for you and why it’s on my list.

If there’s one thing to be said about Epocware, they know how to build applications. My favorite part about this software is that you really don’t ever have to mess around with your profiles again. Handy Profiles was designed to allow for the least use interaction once everything is set up and it does it very well. As I said above, Handy Profiles gives you access to all of the normal settings you’d find in the normal Profiles application so you don’t need to adjust your profile settings inside two different applications. Handy Profiles also allows you to determine which of your profiles you’d like to be set as the default so you don’t have to be stuck with the phone reverting back to the Normal profile as you would be with the standard Profiles application.

Handy Profiles-8

The first feature that everyone complains about not being available by default on S60 is timed profiles. This allows you to turn on a specific profile only for a certain amount of time so you don’t have to remember to switch the profile back to normal. I can’t tell you how many calls I’ve missed when I used to leave work with my phone in the Silent profile because I didn’t bother to switch the profile back.

Handy Profiles-2

This feature lets you set the interval down to the hours and the minutes so you can be very specific about when you want your profile to default back to Normal. I don’t use this feature much anymore due to everything else Handy Profiles offers, but I do use it for our manager’s meetings every Friday because they’re usually set to a specific time frame.

Handy Profiles-3

The second feature I use constantly (if you can call it “using”) is the Rules list. You can see by the screenshot below that I have two rules set up for the Quiet profile. The second rule on the list is the timed list. This automatically changes my profile to Quiet from 10:00pm-8:00am Sunday night through Thursday night so my phone doesn’t wake anyone in the house should someone call or text me during those hours.

Handy Profiles-3

The first rule is the Calendar entry rule, which means Handy Profiles will automatically change the profile to Quiet based on words in my Calendar. I have mine set to look for the word “Circuit” in the location field to change the profile to Quiet anytime I’m at work. It can be set to scan for specific words in the subject, location, description, or any of those in all of your Calendar entries.

Handy Profiles-4

The third feature which I find pretty nifty though I don’t use it is the location feature. Handy Profiles allows you to set a rule for a profile to be turned on whenever you enter an area that uses certain cell towers. To do this, the location needs to be “trained” into the phone by turning the feature on and allowing the application to scan for nearby cell towers. Once trained, your profile will automatically be changed to your profile of choice when in that area and will automatically change back to the default profile when you leave.

Handy Profiles-6

Handy Profiles is $19.99 from Handango and you can click on any of the links in the post to purchase it. A trial version is also available if you’d like to give it a shot before you commit. Handy Profiles is one of four Handy applications I currently have installed on my phone (among Handy Weather, Clock, and Taskman) and Handango gives you a bundled discount when you purchase multiple applications. You can also purchase one of their Tools or Business packs to save even more money. This application is one of the

Written by Jonathan

June 3, 2008 at 5:39 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Bruha from Thoughts on S60 has a detailed review of Epocware’s Handy Profiles. I have been using this application myself, to switch to Silent profile automatically during […]


Leave a Reply

