Thoughts on S60

reflections on the most popular mobile operating system worldwide

Quick Phone Status Update

leave a comment »

I realize that a lot has changed with the devices I’ve used in the past couple months, so I thought I’d share a quick update as far as what I’ve used and my experiences with each device.

iPhone 16gb-Despite my setback with receiving only a bag from AT&T, I did finally get the phone a week later. I also sold it the day before the 3G iPhone was announced for a decent profit. Apple’s still got a long way to go before I buy one of their phones (especially if I have to hunt for one like a Wii Fit and sacrifice my zero-month commitment with AT&T just to get one).

N95-4-I have been experiencing very poor reception, consistent video recording issues, and it will randomly lock up with the error “Insert SIM card” every 6-8 hours. It was received today by Nokia’s Repair Center and with luck I should have it back next week.

N70-A buddy of mine rolled through town a few weeks back and ended up trading his N70 (which I had originally sold him in the first place) for an old N73 that I had lying around plus some cash. Seemed like a good idea at the time, but I really wish the N70 was triband.

E71-2-With my N95 out to service and the not having a suitable backup, I thought it best to buy something to use in the meantime and the E71-2 fit the bill. If you’d like a full review, you can find one from almost any Nokia blog, but my initial impressions are very positive. I’m going to hate using an Nseries again in the future for the difference in build quality alone. I’m going to write a more comprehensive list of little things that I really like about the E71 in a couple days.

When I get my N95 back, I’m planning on selling it or the E71, but I have no idea which yet. Either way, I’m trying to get myself used to the poor 3.2mp camera so using the Tube won’t be such a downgrade.

Written by Jonathan

August 11, 2008 at 11:17 pm

Leave a Reply

