Thoughts on S60

reflections on the most popular mobile operating system worldwide

Nokia Launches Ovi Sync

leave a comment »

Nokia has finally come full circle with its range of server-based services with Ovi Sync, a new feature to the list of Ovi services that allows both S60 and S40 users the ability to synchronize contacts, calendar, entries, and notes with the cloud instead of with your desktop.

I’m very excited about this new service for both my own usage as well as for what it means for Nokia. This is one of the final steps to complete the experience of using an S60 device rather than just using the device by itself, and it’s all through the same portal. With the same, single link on my browser and S60 device, I have access to Share on Ovi for uploading images and video, Files on Ovi for accessing all of my files on my desktop from anywhere, and now the newest piece, Ovi Sync for managing all of my PIM data.

For me, personally, I’ve been waiting for something like this for a long time. The only reason I’ve used Outlook for the past several years was to have a suitable application for Nokia PC Suite (now with Ovi Suite also available) to use for a sync profile, but that’s not an issue anymore.

There are only a couple things I would like to see from this service in the future that it doesn’t have currently. Bookmarks are not part of the sync yet, which I would imagine will be added sooner than later. The Sync application itself on your S60 device needs to be set for automatic synchronization at predetermined intervals for this new service to replace desktop sync altogether. I would also really like to see a way for the Sync to be initiated from the Ovi Sync website rather than forcing me to start it from my device. All of these are minor though and most can be added if requested enough.

Click any of the links above to start setting up your services with Ovi if you haven’t already!

Written by Jonathan

August 28, 2008 at 10:50 pm

Leave a Reply

