Thoughts on S60

reflections on the most popular mobile operating system worldwide

Archive for September 24th, 2008

A lesson in urgency…UPDATED! (learned!)

with 2 comments

So, here’s a not-so-fun experience I had tonight. I switched to Yahoo a little over a year ago for my email server to avoid problems with Comcast when I change services and move around the country. Switching everything over took some time, but it wasn’t too difficult in the long run. For whatever reason, however, I still would receive emails at my Comcast address from WOM World no matter how many times I attempted to change my settings. This has proven to be a problem on numerous occasions when Donna or anyone else is trying to get a hold of me, but none so drastic as the email I had missed until tonight.

Coincidentally, I thought that it was about time to request a new device from WOM World since I hadn’t done so in a long while. As soon as I had finished submitting my request, I remembered my lingering issue with my old email address and immediately checked it. Apparently, Donna at WOM World had tried to get a hold of me earlier this month on the 11th and the 17th for me to trial an N96 and as I write this, it would appear I am now out of time to take advantage of this opportunity. Of course, I immediately responded to the email and now I’m beating myself up for not correcting this email problem sooner. I have now set everything up correctly so that my Comcast email automatically gets forwarded to my Yahoo email, like I should have set up in the first place.

I sincerely hope I’m not too late to be able to partake in the challenges that are supposed to coincide with this trial, but either way, I’ve certainly learned my lesson on managing urgent tasks, regardless how trivial they may seem.

UPDATE! I got an email back from Donna from WOM World this morning and it looks like I’m not too late after all! I’ll be posting all about it when I get my hands on the device and as I start to complete the challenges that go along with the trial. I’m thrilled!

Written by Jonathan

September 24, 2008 at 12:41 am