Thoughts on S60

reflections on the most popular mobile operating system worldwide

Nokia Maps and P’sOI, or lack thereof…

with 2 comments

As I drove around my city desparately looking for a gas station that still has gas to sell, I cringed as I remembered that my N95 can kinda-sorta do a make shift job of helping me out. For those who don’t know, the South is experiencing a gas shortage due to the hurricanes near Texas, causing the oil refineries to close to avoid serious damage. The result is my area now has the highest gas prices in the country, if they have gas to sell at all.

In any case, I cringe when I open Nokia Maps because I remember how terrible the POI system works. While I absolutely love the application and the voice navigation directly from the manufacturer of the phone, finding a specific place by category quickly and intuitively are near impossible. Click ahead to read about what happened last night.

So I fired up Nokia Maps and searched for something I thought would be simple enough to find: “Quik” as in the first part of “Quik Trip”. Sounds easy enough, right? Here’s the results I was given.

According to Nokia Maps, the nearest location with the term “Quik” in it isn’t a Quik Trip at all, it’s a Quik “Chick”, whatever that is, and it’s almost 14 miles away. As I watched my glowing gas light stare at me as my needle fell below the red “E”, I decided driving 30 miles to the nearest Quik Trip (according to Nokia Maps) was simply impossible.

I fired up Google Maps instead and did the exact same search. Here’s what Google had to say instead.

Oh, that’s right. It’s right there, around the friggin’ corner.

At this point, I didn’t need any help finding the gas station, but that’s not the point. I’ve always stuck to the belief that technology will never be a replacement for common sense, and while a standalone GPS may be more well-suited to handle a mini-crisis like I had last night, Nokia Maps however, is certainly not.

An experience like this makes me want to see one of two things:

-Nokia needs to share Google’s search information for POI’s in Nokia Maps, or

-Google Maps needs to add voice navigation stat.

Written by Jonathan

September 25, 2008 at 12:57 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How to search for gas:

    Options, Search, Drive, Petrol Station

    Al

    September 25, 2008 at 6:46 pm

  2. In my erratic state, I didn’t even bother trying the categories, so you certainly got me on that one. My experience certainly still applies, though. If I were looking specifically for a Quik Trip in an unfamiliar area because of their large selection of fried junk food as compared to other gas stations, I would have run into the same issue. And I’m sure there are plenty of people who have had similar, if not worse experiences searching the same way. Don’t even get me started on trying to find addresses.

    Jonathan

    September 26, 2008 at 5:03 am


Leave a Reply

