Thoughts on S60

reflections on the most popular mobile operating system worldwide

A Brief Moment with the T-Mobile G1

with one comment

I popped into a T-Mobile store the other day to see what all the fuss was about with the launch of HTC’s first handset running Android. I didn’t spend all too much time with the device but I did get a much better feel for how Android handles different tasks.

I really liked the interface, but Android still has a long way to go. As I’ve mentioned to others before, there are certain fundamental features missing from the G1 that really sold me on not buying the device and didn’t make me want to explore every menu thoroughly like I did with the iPhone when it launched.

Here are my turn-off’s:

  • Currently no on-screen keyboard (coming Q1 2009)/all input must be done on flip-out keyboard
  • No 3.5mm headphone port/miniUSB port used instead
  • Shares a lot of the same missing standard features as the iPhone (full Bluetooth profiles, video recording, etc.,) as well as some of its own
  • The device requires a memory card for storing media, but curiously won’t let you install applications to it

I did particularly like the trackball for navigation in addition to the touch screen (albeit, a bit redundant) and overall it felt much faster and smoother than the iPhone (probably due to the processor clocked a bit faster). Given that I didn’t get a chance to use the device too extensively, I don’t recommend anyone else to write it off just yet, but for my usage and the cons it has at face value, I already have.The G1 definitely convinced me that Android is going to be an excellent contender in this new generation of touch-screen craze, but for me, I think it’s a safer bet to wait for a more mature handset to run it when more apps and features become available.

One more picture after the break.

Written by Jonathan

October 26, 2008 at 12:45 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have absolutely zero interest in this device, but I think more competition is always a good thing. 2009 will be an interesting year for developers, and it seems they will have to cut off ties with the incumbent king Nokia, and may move on to the iPhone and Android territories –

    newtype2011

    October 31, 2008 at 1:37 am


Leave a Reply

