Thoughts on S60

reflections on the most popular mobile operating system worldwide

Some distressing news and a new challenge…

with 3 comments

Many of you have probably already heard the news, but for those of you that haven’t, Circuit City publicly announced on Monday that they would be closing 155 of their retail stores nationwide in a fatal attempt to save the company. My store in Snellville, Georgia was one of those 155 stores, along with nearly every other store in the state as well. This will effectively put me out of a job within the coming weeks, depending on how long it takes to liquidate everything in the building. There are plenty of reasons why this happened and given the company’s recent exceptionally poor performance, I can’t say I’m surprised. Notwithstanding, it makes for some significantly difficult times ahead for everyone affected. The following picture is from my store after the signage went up today.

Depending on what happens to my career situation in the next few months, I may be putting Thoughts On S60 on haitus until I can donate the time necessary to give it the attention I would like. If you thought my posts were few and far between before, just you wait!

The one good thing I’ve seen come out of this is just how incredible people can be in times of need. I have had several close customers stop by to not only express their concern (not just looking for the good deals), but have also offered to get my resume into their network to get me back on my feet. There’s no way I can possibly express in written text how unbelievably greatful I am to those who have extended themselves. If you happen to be reading, thank you. You have no idea how much it truly means to me.

That said, I still plan to finish the Face the Task Challenges and I just so happen to have my second challenge sitting on my desk now.

I’ve been giving it some serious thought, and I have an excellent idea on how to complete this challenge. I’ll give everyone a hint: there’s a reason I posted this and the news about my store closing in the same post.

Written by Jonathan

November 6, 2008 at 5:07 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HEY JONNY, I AM SO SORRY TO HEAR ABOUT WHAT IS GOING ON, I WILL PERSONALLY PRAY THAT YOU WILL FIND EMPLOYMENT SWIFTLY AND QUICKLY AND MAY IT BE AN EVEN GREATER OPPORTUNITY THAN YOU HAVE HAD IN THE PAST. I WORK FOR THE GOVERNMENT (POSTAL SERVICE) AND I SUGGEST YOU TAKE EVERY FEDERAL OR CITY TEST AVAILABLE TO YOU, MIGHT NOT BE THE HIGHEST PAYING BUT THEY ARE THE MOST SECURE. I WISH YOU TREMENDOUS GOOD FORTUNE IN THE FUTURE AND I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO HEARING HOW YOUR SITUATION TURNED ITSELF AROUND.

    THETRUTH

    November 6, 2008 at 10:26 pm

  2. Hard times ahead for everybody. But we will all make it, you’ll see.

    sjhong

    November 8, 2008 at 9:07 pm

  3. Dude, Im sorry to hear you were caught up in all the crappy economy. Im sure you will find something soon.

    Baddogg79

    November 10, 2008 at 1:17 am


Leave a Reply

