Thoughts on S60

reflections on the most popular mobile operating system worldwide

Touring with the N97 and my 2nd Impressions

with 2 comments

Less than a week after I picked up a used E90 on eBay (for a steal!), I got a call this past Tuesday from Katie with WOM World, inviting me to tour four cities in the US trialing the N97 with three other bloggers. How could I say no?!

The tour is going to take the four of us through Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago (!), and New York, with various challenges and Barcamps to attend in each city, finishing with a Grand Finale at a yet-to-be-determined location. Each of us will be responsible for trying out specific aspects of the device in each city to really get a feel for what the N97 can really do. I’ll be responsible for navigation, Matt Bennett for content consumption, George Kelly for content creating, and Andrew Currie for connectivity. We will be traveling from the 7th through the 23rd of July and all expenses are on WOM World (including our mobile airtime usage, thanks guys!).

Needless to say, I’m incredibly excited. My only real concern is really how well the N97 will perform when we push it to its limits. I bought a white N97 a couple weeks ago and after only a short amount of time with it, I decided I’d rather have my $600 than keep it (I was much more impessed with the $300 E90 I bought shortly after). The firmware was incredibly buggy, requiring several restarts every day, the hardware keyboard had very little tactile feedback (and personally I hate the shift/alt key arrangement), and the haptic vibration for screen feedback made a scratching sound that made it feel like I was destroying the device every time I touched it. That and I could barely get the device to stay powered for a whole day with all of the widgets connected to various networks all day. The internal hardware (which I had my concerns) turned out to perform better than I thought, but I still saw a lot of applications closing in the background and additional processing time being used in various applications.

The black unit I received from WOM World yesterday already seems to be a completely different beast. It had the newest v11 firmware on it when I opened the box, making the device MUCH more stable, the keyboard has much more feedback than my white one did, and battery life seems to be holding up a lot better too. The “screen scratching” issue is still there, but it’s much less noticeable than on my previous N97. The next three weeks will really put the CPU and RAM to the test.

The dates and links are posted below if you’d like to attend  any of the barcamps to hang out with us. If you’re not familiar with the term barcamp (like me!), there’s also a link for that too. 🙂

Los Angeles Barcamp, Saturday, July 11th, 10am-5pm

San Francisco Barcamp, Tuesday, July 14th, 7pm-10pm

Chicago Barcamp, Saturday, July 18th, 10am-5pm

BarCamp is an international network of user generated conferences — open, participatory workshop-events, whose content is provided by participants. The first BarCamps focused on early-stage web applications, and related open source technologies, socialprotocols, and open data formats. The format has also been used for a variety of other topics, including public transit, health care, and political organizing.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] a series of unboxing videos starting from the very minute the device was delivered to his door! Jonny Bruha posts his ’second’ impressions of the N97, along with some details of where the guys […]

  2. Did you know that you can manage the strength of the haptic feedback or even turn it off if you like? Go into and edit your selected Profile to manage the haptic feedback levels.

    Have a great trip and I look forward to your posts.

    Matthew Miller

    July 8, 2009 at 8:08 am


Leave a Reply

